Skip to content

Anna K. releases her new album Údolí včel after six years and delivers a sincere and authentic message

The new album “Údolí včel” (Valley of the Bees) was created over the last 6 years and presents 9 authentic songs full of emotion.

“It’s a kind of my love testimony. It’s a very personal album full of life truths, experiences. It’s about the power of relationship, the power of love. Which may sound like a cliché, but it’s really not. It’s about a sense of belonging that helps one to overcome huge falls, to the very bottom, but also to feel intensely the feelings of joy and victory,” says Anna K. about the newly released album.

All the songs on the album were written by Anna K’s partner, guitarist Tomáš Vartecký. They worked together on it for six years at different stages of their lives. It was born gradually in their home studio in Vrane nad Vltavou. Apart from Tomáš Vartecký, the album also features the guitarist of Bon Jovi Phil X and former drummer of Foreigner and Whitesnike Brian Tichy. Several of the songs were given shape by the famous American producer Chris Lord-Alge (Green Day, Billy Talent, Muse and others). The musician Peter Aristone, who has recently joined Chris Lord-Alge’s team, is behind the mix of six tracks, and one track was mixed by Pavel Bohatý, a member of Anna K’s band. The album was mastered by Dale Becker, a multiple Grammy Award nominee.

Three songs from the new album are already on the air. Besides the title track “Údolí včel”, “Na malou chvíli” and “O Tobě i o mně” have become radio hits. They have been played at every Anna K. concert for some time now, at summer festivals and of course they will not be missing on the traditional pre-Christmas acoustic tour, which starts on 9 November in Chomutov. Anna K. will present the remaining tracks from the album live with her band next year on 25 April 2024 at a concert in Prague’s Forum Karlín and on 27 April 2024 in Brno’s Sono, where she will also christen the new album with her fans.

The title of the new album was given by the current radio hit “Údolí včel”. A fairy-tale song about a knight who sets out to find his love even at the cost of giving his life for it.

“With this song we say that every long-lasting relationship, behind which there is a great love, is worth fighting for as a life, even though it may not be going through the rosiest of times”, explains Anna K.

The new album also features “Apollo 11”, a song that was written as the world celebrated the 50th anniversary of the first man on the moon. Anna K. and Tomáš Vartecký also used the famous quote by American astronaut Neil Armstrong “A small step for man, a giant leap for mankind”. Tomáš Vartecký’s voice can be heard leading Anna K. in the single “Údolí včel” and also in the Christmas song “Na vločce”, which closes the album.

For three decades the singer has been performing under the stage name Anna K. Her career, however, began in the Semafor theatre long before she became a popular singer. This year marks the thirtieth anniversary of the release of her debut album “Já nezapomínám” (I don’t forget).

On this occasion, a unique documentary directed by Vít Bělohradský is being produced, to which Anna K. adds: “It will be a nice film recapitulation of my long professional and life career. I have been on a long journey and met many very inspiring and amazing personalities, from whom I had the privilege to learn and continue to learn. I am very happy to be able to say with respect that my songs speak to and maybe even inspire and motivate a little bit the people who come to my concerts and listen to my records. It’s a dream come true.”

The cover of “Údolí včel” was designed by the singer of the band Kurtizány z 25. avenue, graphic designer Daniel Kurz, the author of the image on the cover of Anna K.’s previous album “Světlo” (2017).

The portrait photographs of Anna K. in the booklet were taken by the prominent photographer Alžběta Jungrová. The new album “Údolí včel” will be released digitally on 20 October under the BrainZone label and on 30 October on physical media. It can be ordered on CD and limited edition vinyl on the website

Album tracklist

  1. Údolí včel
  2. Černý tulipán
  3. Na malou chvíli
  4. Normální není vůbec nic
  5. Kovboj
  6. Apollo 11
  7. Ať to nikdy neskončí
  8. O Tobě i o mně
  9. Na vločce